Professors Esther Duflo and Abhijit Banerjee are visiting PSE for the 2020-2021 school year.

We warmly welcome them back to the Development Group and especially look forward to their comments in seminars!

Dr. Banerjee and Dr. Duflo are current professors in MIT’s Economics Department. Along with Michael Kremer, they received the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2019 “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.” In 2003, they co-founded the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) with Sendhil Mullainathan.

Fun fact: Before joining MIT as Phd candidate, Esther graduated from the APE Master – a precursor to PSE’s current masters program!